Erin Gormley Speaks at Mount Mercy National Honor Society Induction

March 31, 2017

Mount Mercy Holds Its National Honor Society Induction On Tuesday March 29th the McAuley Chapter of National Honor Society at Mount Mercy Academy hosted its annual induction at the Mercy Center Convent Chapel. Four new senior and twentyseven new junior members were inducted, joining 12 previously inducted members. Membership in the National Honor Society is based on excellence in knowledge, scholarship, leadership, service and character. The National Honor Society was started in 1921 and there are over 20,000 chapters worldwide.

The NHS members who were installed in 2016 explained the history of National Honor Society and explained what the five pillars of NHS mean. President Margaret Cronin presented the candidates for membership and Principal Margaret Staszak draped the NHS stoles on the inductees.

Erin Gormley of Buffalo, a member of Mount Mercy’s class of 2006 and a past NHS member was the guest speaker for the evening. Gormley graduated from the Northeastern University with a BS and The University of Pittsburgh Law School with her Juris Doctorate. She spoke of the importance of the principles of the National Honor Society in her life and encouraged the members to continue to strive to excel in all five areas.

The newly inducted members from Buffalo are: senior Brynn Covington and juniors Julia Acosta, Emily Burns, Olivia Cudney, Fiona Danahy, Colleen Keane, Julia Khoury, Megan Michalski, Margaret O’Malley, DesTiny Overton, Naomi Parisi and Alexis Sandor.

West Seneca residents who were inducted include senior Allyson Pfeil and juniors Mary Bala, Hannah Bray, Olivia Harrington, Siobhan Harrington, Paige Siebold and Allison Rogowski.

Senior Brianna Gawronski of Dunkirk and juniors Mary Barnes and Catherine Roth of Fredonia were also inducted. Senior Robyn Seibert of South Wales and juniors Paris Green and Emily Lewandowski of East Aurora, along with juniors Christina Billittier and Abigail Hillery of Hamburg, Shea Halpenny and Abigail Swiger of Lackawanna, Chloe Manikowski of Depew and Kathryn Marabella of Cheektowaga were also inducted.

The previously inducted members of the McAuley Chapter of the National Honor Society are seniors: Anne Bamrick, Hannah Colin, Colleen Finn and Samantha Lawicki from Buffalo; Samantha Budzinski and Clare Smokowski of West Seneca, Elizabeth Colton, Elizabeth Hughes and Jena MattinaChmiel of Orchard Park and Clare McKeone, Jillian English and Molly McLaughlin of Hamburg.

Original article can be found on the Mount Mercy website: